I am not very good at managing my free time. Even Royalty has weakness!

If I have a list of things to accomplish and a set time for doing so, I am good to go.

If I don’t plan ahead and prepare myself- I am sunk.

When I am at my best, I plan meals by the week. I sit down on Saturday and go through my cookbooks. I cross reference the family calendar, so I don’t plan a labor intensive meal for a night that I have 15 minutes to get supper on the table.  I make a shopping list of what I need for those meals, after checking freezer and pantry.

Next, I add all of those things that my well trained family have added to the list on the fridge.  They are really good about adding things that they finish off during the week. Buttercup adds peanut butter and milk every week. Redbeard adds beer and coffee!Then we add the weekly needs of breakfast and lunch, cats and trash bags….. it is easy if I keep up with it.

We generally do our food shopping on Sunday- straight after church. Once we get home and everything is put away- we have the rest of the day to ourselves.  When I get unpacked, I intend to clean and cut the fruits and veggies so they are ready for snacking- sometimes I do it!

When I don’t do my planning- we eat grilled cheese and tuna salad sandwiches for supper.  Not a bad thing, once in a blue moon. I get out of sorts if I don’t have meals planned. I like knowing what’s for supper before breakfast has even been made.

It makes me happy to be ready.

Rule #156- Plan ahead…..

