One of my favorite people, Sister Kelly, from On KP Duty posted about breakfast. It made me think….

Buttercup is a freshman in high school. She is just about full-grown at 14 1/2 years old. She is, in my humble opinion, perfectly sized. She wears a size 4 and can rock any look she wants. All of this takes work of course…. a lot of good quality fuel is needed to build such a healthy body and fabulous brain!

Every single day for breakfast we eat the same thing:

One slice Ezekiel bread

One cup of grapefruit

2 slices of veggie bacon (real bacon is a big treat- not everyday food!)

A big glass of milk for the girl and a cup of coffee or 3 for me!

She is a big creature of habit and likes to eat the same thing everyday for breakfast and lunch. Saves making decisions early in the morning I guess!

Now, I only bring this up because something has been brought to my attention that I just DON”T understand. Some of her friends don’t eat breakfast OR lunch because their parents have told them they need to lose weight. They have been told that eating one meal a day will help. I call FOUL!

(Disclaimer- I know that these girls may be fibbing about the fact that their parents said this, but they ARE skipping meals.)

These girls are not overweight- but they are wearing a bigger size than they are comfortable in. I can understand that. What I can’t understand is why they think that skipping meals is going to help anything. One of the girls even passed out at school…

They ask Buttercup how she can eat so much (lunch is 8 crackers, 2 slices of cheese and a handful of baby carrots; how is that SO MUCH?!) and stay so thin. She tried to explain that eating regularly and making good choices are all she does. When they can’t stand the hunger, they buy a bag of chips. She tries to tell them that you can eat 10 times as much food if you eat real,  whole foods. It makes me sad.

I know this has kind of rambled…. it is something that means a lot to me and it makes me sad that not all parents teach their kids the same way.

Rule #136- Teach your kids to eat as much healthy whole food as they want when they are hungry. They will only eat what they need!

