I have never posted a recipe before, but I decided to try one after last night’s dinner was such a hit.

We are not Catholic, but I know lots of people who follow the No Meat on Fridays rule during Lent. I also know several people who try to do Meatless Mondays. This recipe could be a side dish or something you bring to a pot luck. We ate it as the main course with home-made wheat rolls on the side.

Black Bean and Edamame Salad with Fresh Mozzarella

 

Not a picture of my dinner- but good approximation

 

2 Cups Black Beans (you can used canned- I used fresh cooked, dried beans)

1 Cup grape tomatoes, halved

2 Cups frozen shelled edamame, thawed

2 oz fresh mozzarella, cut into small pieces

Dressing:

equal amounts (about 2-3 Tbsp)

olive oil, apple cider vinegar, fresh lime juice

2 or more cloves garlic, minced

salt and pepper to taste

Combine dressing ingredients in a small bowl- whisk.

Combine all other ingredients in an appropriately sized bowl and mix well.

Pour dressing over top and mix again.

Enjoy!

(This recipe started with one from a magazine called Clean Eating. I changed it to fit our tastes.)

I also admit that when cooking like this- I don’t often measure very well. Amounts are round about- but the combination of ingredients was spectacular. When we finished licking the bowl….. I also considered that it will be great in the summer when there is no way I am turning the stove on.

Rule #115- Don’t get stuck in a rut- try something new!

 

