Monday? How did that happen? Oh well, may as well make the best of it.

This post goes along with the calendar today= it is Children’s Authors and Illustrators Week. Coincidentally (or not!) that matches up with the challenge of listing favorite books.

I started reading early and never stopped. I remember running out of books to read in the young adult section of the public library and just going back to the beginning. I would read and re read the same books over and over and over. I have so many images in my mind of books I read as a girl.

One of my most wonderful memories is of the librarian at my elementary school. Our school was K-6. The library was two big rooms with the card catalog (Yes, that big piece of furniture filled with drawers and drawers of tiny little cards to tell you where the books were!) and the circulation desk in the center. One room was for K-3 and the other was 4-6. When I was in 2nd grade I was bored silly of the “baby books” on my side of the library. The librarian told me to go pick a book from the other room and bring it to her. I chose The Witch of Blackbird Pond. She opened it to a random page and asked me to read it to her. I did. She declared me a good enough reader to read the big kid books. I have never looked back!

Some of my favorite books had both great text and illustrations:

Winnie the Pooh by A.A. Milne

Anything by Richard Scarry

Shel Silverstein's poetry books

Dr Seuss and Theo LeSieg

Laura Ingalls Wilder- author Garth Williams- illustrator

E.B. White- author Garth Willliams- illustrator

Ok- I know no one is surprised I put Laura Ingalls Wilder in there! I do remember though the first time I realized that the pictures in Charlotte’s Web looked like the pictures in Little House in the Big Woods. A revelation for a child!

Of course, when Buttercup came along I was re introduced to some old favorites and found many new ones- we loved to read together. I must admit- I can read bed time stories like a champ!

So, I think I will go dig out Where the Sidewalk Ends and read some memories.

What were some of your favorites growing up?

Rule #104- Make memories- read with a child!

