Today was “Hispanic Culture” day in Buttercup’s Spanish 2 class. This is the school appropriate name for “Christmas Party”. Of course, in order to keep within the rules… all of the food donations were to be of Hispanic origin.

The day she came home with the news…. she had 2 requests. 1. She did NOT want sweets (class is at 10:30am) and 2. She wanted something that not everyone else would bring. People had claimed tamales, sopapillas, enchiladas, etc…. already.

Not being Hispanic nor a big fan of the food…. I was kind of stuck. My first thought was to call Aggie. Before I could… Buttercup took the wheel. She called her Daddy and asked him to ask the ladies he works with what they thought. He did and one of the ladies came to our rescue with a recipe for Fideo. If you have never had fideo, it is basically a Mexican noodle soup.

Buttercup cooked a batch on Tuesday night so we could be sure it worked. It was delicioso! I made a batch this morning and brought it up to the school. I can’t wait to see how it worked out. I was so proud of her for taking charge and taking responsibility.

Oh…a book…. yeah… How about Stay With Me: A Novel by Sandra Rodriguez Barron….. This book starts in Cuba and Puerto Rico. As far as I can remember it is the only book that used a Latin setting. It has been 10 months since I read it so I will include a synopsis from www.amazon.com

“In 1979, five toddlers were found alone in a luxury boat tied to a dock in Puerto Rico after a devastating hurricane. No one knew who they were or where they came from. Raised by different families, they remained connected by a special bond—always considering themselves siblings, despite their unknown blood relations.

Intensely gripping and lyrically written, Stay with Me is a magnificent blend of romance, suspense, atmosphere, and intrigue that brilliantly explores the true meaning of family and the remarkable ways a personal history can paint a future.”

I recommend the book… and the fideo!

Rule #76: Proverbs 22:6 (NLT) Direct your children onto the right path, and when they are older, they will not leave it.

Buttercup, I love you and am very proud of you! ild, Mommy

