Today’s book is one that I can’t believe it took me this long to read; Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte.

I know lots of people who read the Bronte sisters and Jane Austen books over and over… they are favorites. Honestly, I just never got much into them. I think some of the reason was that when I was younger I really didn’t like books that were about how to find a man.

It might not be true, but I always had the impression that these types of books were about men trying to control the lives of the women around them. The men decide when and whom the women marry. The women never seemed to have any say in their own lives.

As I have mentioned before, I was raised by a single mom in a time when women just didn’t do it on their own. I looked at the world differently than others around me.

Ironically, I grew up to get married right out of college and have grown into a very traditional marriage and lifestyle…. but since it was my choice, I am very happy with it!

I did read Jane Eyre finally and I loved it…. Jane was not what I expected… she spoke her mind and stood up for herself. Maybe I will give some of the other books in the genre a chance…. suggestions?

Rule #75- Don’t judge a book by it’s genre…. this goes for people too!

