First published in 1945, my next book has been read by countless high school students. George Orwell’s Animal Farm.

To be honest, we listened to it on CD on our last road trip.

Now, I read the book when I was in school and enjoyed it…. but that was a long time ago and I probably didn’t get a whole lot out of it.

Listening to it aloud with Buttercup and Redbeard was a different experience. We kept stopping to discuss and answer questions. We discussed the politics and history involved. We have learned from past experiences that this a great way to pass time AND help Buttercup understand common literary references. We love it!

I enjoyed Animal Farm even more this time….. when those pigs started acting like people…. oh… great drama!

Rule #68 All animals are created equal; but some are more equal than others!

