I am challenging myself to another month long challenge. Last month’s grateful rules made my heart happy so I am trying something else.

Every day I am going to tell you about a book I have read….. either recently or in the past. Since January 1 of this year I have read 70 books….. some much better than others. My book club has expanded my selections to include some books I would not have otherwise picked up. I don’t always love them; but I am always glad I read them.

 

Since it is December 2, I will do 2 books today.

1- When I was 9 years old, I read Are You There God, It’s Me Margaret by Judy Blume for the first time. I specify that it was the first time because since then, I have probably read that book 75 times. I literally read my original copy until it fell to pieces. I still have that copy. When Buttercup was old enough, I bought her a copy of her own. It didn’t impact her the same way- but she did humor me! She seemed to enjoy it and we had some good talks about it.

For those of you have read the book- you know what it is about and why I read it so many times.  It is a young girl’s coming of age story. Margaret learns to make decisions on her own; she learns to question religion and about the crazy changes that a girl goes through physically and emotionally as she grows up. I could quote lines to my friends when they had a problem.

Margaret was one of my 2 favorite girls growing up. The other was Laura Ingalls… but she will be another post of her own.

2- The last book I finished was The Leftovers by Tom Perotta. It is a recently published novel about a Rapture-like event and the aftermath. It had some slow points and got a little preachy here and there…. but it was a great premise. The Rapture was not what we think of as The Rapture…. lots of people who were Believers and non-believers were “disappeared”.  The reactions of those left behind were realistic and varied; just like I would imagine. There was survivor guilt, jealousy and fear. Cults were formed and families torn apart.

All in all the relationship between Jill and her dad, Kevin, was the best part of the story for me.

Rule #67- Remember the books of your childhood and take them with you into your adulthood!

 

