Today is The Pirate Redbeard’s birthday. He is officially over 40 now.

Normally, birthdays are fun days…. poor Redbeard had to return to work today after being out of the office for 2 1/2 weeks. The alarm clock going off this morning was not a great way to start the day. Oh well, we will be grateful that we woke up today!

Redbeard is the coolest guy I know. He is tall, handsome, smarter than anyone I have ever met, honest, God-fearing and about the funniest man in the world.

The funniest part is that not many people know how funny he is. He is very quiet- you know…. the kind that doesn’t say much so that when he does talk- people listen. The strong, silent type! Sister Kelly, Brother E, Sister Mags…. these are some of the people who know the real Redbeard under the gruff exterior.

He practices what he preaches. He does the right thing simply because it is the right thing to do. He loves me. He loves our daughter. He accepts all the pieces and parts of us. He takes his job seriously and always does his very best. He is calm at all times and doesn’t crack under pressure.

He is my hero. Happy Birthday, Redbeard. I love you all ways and always.

If we weren't still full from Thanksgiving pie and if I could decorate as well as I bake; this is the cake I would bake for him

Rule #63- If you have someone to celebrate your special days with you…. be grateful!

